Seahawks WR Golden Tate has to fork over some cash to the NFL league offices after they’ve announced a $21,000 fine for his block on Cowboys LB Sean Lee during Sunday’s win in Seattle.
The league office says the block was illegal because Tate launched himself into Lee, striking him in the chest and chin with the crown of his helmet. Tate said after the game that he didn’t think — but didn’t know for sure — that the block was illegal.
“I knew that I didn’t hit him in his helmet,” Tate said. “I hit him somewhere down here [at chest level]. But the rules change so much that you never really know.”
Tate delivered a major blow, and although I didn’t think it was illegal at the time, the league did a great job explaining why the receiver was fined. Below is the video of the hit.
Follow us on Twitter @OCNNReport
OCNN Sports Columnist – Justin Arbogast @NFLGuy_SK